Fairytale hike in Karavanke

A Day Tour, start from Srednji Vrh (pick-up in Kranjska Gora or Bled)

One of the most scenic one day missions in the Karavanke Alps starts in Srednji vrh, an idyllic tiny village at 950 m where 28 inhabitants still lead a genuine countryside life. The overwhelming views and immense beauty of the jagged peaks of the Julian Alps will follow us throughout the way on our beautiful loop hike in the sun stroked Karavanke. Expect long meadows, beautiful forests and comfortable peaks. Recommended in any season!

Read on our Blog:

Itinerary

We meet in your chosen location and head towards Srednji Vrh, where we start our hiking adventure in the beautiful Karavanke mountain range. We can choose from shorter hikes with no more than 10 km and 600 m of ascent to a full day 20-km loop hike with 1,300 m of ascent. The shorter hikes visit scenic peaks, while the longer hikes also take us across an open ridge with views of the mountainous world of Slovenia on one side and Austria on the other. After we enjoy ourselves at the top, replenishing our energy with a good mountain picnic and taking many memorable photos, we descend back down to Srednji Vrh and drive back to your chosen location.

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intermediate | Hike | Feel your heart pounding as we rush up a wildflower-speckled trail, be enchanted by high-Alpine landscapes, and lie in soft grass below towering mountains.

Length and elevation gain

5-8 h, 600 m - 1,300 m | One-day tour with various hiking loops; estimated 3 - 4.5-hour ascent, 2 - 3.5-hour descent. Hikes go between 600 meters of elevation gain to 1,300 meters.

Client to guide ratio

7 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 14. Guide ratio 7:1.

Age Requirements

12+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Moderate (3/5) | For moderately fit outdoor enthusiasts and the above; 5-7 hours most days.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Picnic lunch
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Travel insurance

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear in the summer. Basic hiking gear, crampons, and an ice axe in snow conditions.

Additional information

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
Custom dates available! Contact us for custom departure date. Make Enquiry
March 2024
Fri, 15 Mar - Fri, 15 Mar Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 29 Mar - Fri, 29 Mar Available 139 € Make Enquiry
April 2024
Fri, 12 Apr - Fri, 12 Apr Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 26 Apr - Fri, 26 Apr Available 139 € Make Enquiry
May 2024
Fri, 10 May - Fri, 10 May Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 24 May - Fri, 24 May Available 139 € Make Enquiry
June 2024
Fri, 7 Jun - Fri, 7 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 21 Jun - Fri, 21 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
July 2024
Fri, 5 Jul - Fri, 5 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 19 Jul - Fri, 19 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
August 2024
Fri, 2 Aug - Fri, 2 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 16 Aug - Fri, 16 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 30 Aug - Fri, 30 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
September 2024
Fri, 13 Sep - Fri, 13 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 27 Sep - Fri, 27 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
October 2024
Fri, 11 Oct - Fri, 11 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 25 Oct - Fri, 25 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
November 2024
Fri, 8 Nov - Fri, 8 Nov Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 22 Nov - Fri, 22 Nov Available 139 € Make Enquiry
December 2024
Fri, 6 Dec - Fri, 6 Dec Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 20 Dec - Fri, 20 Dec Available 139 € Make Enquiry
January 2025
Fri, 3 Jan - Fri, 3 Jan Available 139 € Make Enquiry

Available extras

  • Hiking poles 10 €
  • Backpack 10 €
  • Ljubljana transfer (roundtrip) 90 €
× How can I help you?