Photogenic Kamniško Sedlo

A Day Tour, start from Kamniška Bistrica (pick-up in Ljubljana or Kamnik)

A breathtakingly scenic route beneath high rocky peaks in the Kamnik-Savinja Alps. A technically easy trail starts in a glacial Alpine valley of Kamniška Bistrica, then winds through a forest, and finally ascends across a steep slope to a mountain hut on a saddle surrounded by towering mountains on both sides. From the saddle the views reach Ljubljana Basin on one side, Logar Valley on the other side, and many beautiful high peaks of the Kamnik-Savinja Alps in between. Photography pro. Recommended throughout the year to anyone that is fairly fit.

Blog:

Itinerary

We park our cars either in a parking lot in Kamniška Bistrica or a little bit higher at Jermanca, and follow the signs for Kamniško Sedlo. After about an hour walk in a forest, we arrive at a small shepherd's hut. After a quick rest and a few photos on big rocks a few minutes further on, we continue our hike up a scenic slope with vertical faces of 2K mountains towering on both sides of the trail. Once at the top of the saddle, the views open up of the Logarska Valley and beautiful high peaks of the Kamnik-Savinja Alps. Please note that it's about 4 hours to the top for adults, which should make a 5-hour walk up for young families. For those of you who think you could walk some more, we can extend the hike to one of the beautiful peaks above Kamniško Sedlo (please let us know beforehand).

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intermediate | Hike | Feel your heart pounding as we rush up a wildflower-speckled trail, be enchanted by high-Alpine landscape, and lie in soft grass below towering mountains.

Length and elevation gain

7-8 h, 1,263 m | Half-day tour; estimated 4-hour ascent, 3-hour descent. 1,263 meters of elevation gain.

Client to guide ratio

7 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 14. Guide ratio 7:1.

Age Requirements

12+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Moderate (3/5) | For moderately fit outdoor enthusiasts and the above; 5-7 hours most days.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Picnic lunch
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Travel insurance

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear.

Additional information

You can extend your hike with an additional ascent of one of the two scenic mountains called Planjava and Brana.

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
Custom dates available! Contact us for custom departure date. Make Enquiry
March 2024
Sat, 16 Mar - Sat, 16 Mar Available 139 € Make Enquiry
April 2024
Sat, 6 Apr - Sat, 6 Apr Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 20 Apr - Sat, 20 Apr Available 139 € Make Enquiry
May 2024
Sat, 4 May - Sat, 4 May Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 18 May - Sat, 18 May Available 139 € Make Enquiry
June 2024
Sat, 1 Jun - Sat, 1 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 29 Jun - Sat, 29 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
July 2024
Sat, 6 Jul - Sat, 6 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 8 Jul - Wed, 17 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 13 Jul - Sat, 13 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 20 Jul - Sat, 20 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 27 Jul - Sat, 27 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
August 2024
Sat, 3 Aug - Sat, 3 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 10 Aug - Sat, 10 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 17 Aug - Sat, 17 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 24 Aug - Sat, 24 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 31 Aug - Sat, 31 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
September 2024
Sat, 7 Sep - Sat, 7 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 14 Sep - Sat, 14 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 21 Sep - Sat, 21 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 28 Sep - Sat, 28 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
October 2024
Sat, 12 Oct - Sat, 12 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 26 Oct - Sat, 26 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
November 2024
Sat, 9 Nov - Sat, 9 Nov Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Sat, 30 Nov - Sat, 30 Nov Available 139 € Make Enquiry
December 2024
Sat, 21 Dec - Sat, 21 Dec Available 139 € Make Enquiry

Available extras

  • Hiking poles 10 €
  • Backpack 10 €
× How can I help you?