Krn Lakes above Soča Valley

A Day Tour, Soča Valley (pick-up in Kobarid / Bovec)

Venture out to Slovenia’s largest high Alpine lake Krn and its much smaller but no less beautiful twin called Dupeljsko Jezero. Nestled among towering mountains, the lonely Lake Krn is a picture-perfect 300 m-long and 150 m-wide lake overlooking Mt. Krn, the highest mountain of the Krn Mountains in the southwestern Julian Alps. An unforgettable experience for everyone. Possible to extend it to a scenic peak above the lake, Velika Baba, 2,016 m (contact us).

Read on our Blog:

Itinerary

Starting from Lepena, a beautiful valley just underneath the Alps, we head towards the lake on a wide forest trail. After about an 2-hour hike through a forest, the trail opens up to the peaks above, and after another hour we finally arrive at the lake. For the hungry, we prepare a delicious picnic right on the lakeshore on the biggest Alpine lake of Slovenia, or you can decide to enjoy a good meal at the Lake Krn Hut, located just 15 minutes from the lake. Please note that it's about 3 hours to Lake Krn for adults (one way), which should make a 4-hour walk up for young families (one way).

Extra options:

1. We can extend the tour to two days with a night at the comfortable Krn Lake Hut (hot shower, possibility of a private room).

2. The hike can be extended to the spectacular Velika Baba peak above the lakes. Stats: 1400 m of ascent and 16 km distance altogether. Can be split into two days.

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intermediate | Hike | Feel your heart pounding as we rush up a wildflower-speckled trail, be enchanted by high-Alpine landscape, and lie in soft grass below towering mountains.

Length and elevation gain

6 h hiking, 750 m | One-day tour; estimated 3-hour ascent, 3-hour descent. 750 meters of elevation gain.

Client to guide ratio

7 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 14. Guide ratio 7:1.

Age Requirements

10+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Easy Active (2/5) | Great for outdoor novices to active hikers; 3-6 hours of activity per day.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Picnic lunch
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Travel insurance

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear.

Additional information

An additoinal ascent of Mt. Krn, the highest mountain of the Krn Mountains in the southwestern Julian Alps. The trek can also be extended over two days.

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
Custom dates available! Contact us for custom departure date. Make Enquiry
June 2024
Tue, 11 Jun - Tue, 11 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 18 Jun - Tue, 18 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 25 Jun - Tue, 25 Jun Available 139 € Make Enquiry
July 2024
Tue, 2 Jul - Tue, 2 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 9 Jul - Tue, 9 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 16 Jul - Tue, 16 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 23 Jul - Tue, 23 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 30 Jul - Tue, 30 Jul Available 139 € Make Enquiry
August 2024
Tue, 6 Aug - Tue, 6 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 13 Aug - Tue, 13 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 20 Aug - Tue, 20 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 27 Aug - Tue, 27 Aug Available 139 € Make Enquiry
September 2024
Tue, 3 Sep - Tue, 3 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 10 Sep - Tue, 10 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 17 Sep - Tue, 17 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 24 Sep - Tue, 24 Sep Available 139 € Make Enquiry
October 2024
Tue, 1 Oct - Tue, 1 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 8 Oct - Tue, 8 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 15 Oct - Tue, 15 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 22 Oct - Tue, 22 Oct Available 139 € Make Enquiry
November 2024
Tue, 5 Nov - Tue, 5 Nov Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 19 Nov - Tue, 19 Nov Available 139 € Make Enquiry
December 2024
Tue, 3 Dec - Tue, 3 Dec Available 139 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 17 Dec - Tue, 17 Dec Available 139 € Make Enquiry

Available extras

  • Hiking poles 10 €
  • Backpack 10 €
× How can I help you?