Zelenica in Karavanke

Day Tour, available from Bled

Zelenica in the Karavanke Alps, a highly popular ski resort in the 70s and 80s, used to be a perfect spot for professional training and recreational skiing. While it closed down in 2012, the fun part remains: ski runs for winter backcountry skiers, and easily accessible trails below unbroken ridges for those who prefer to walk. Recommended throughout the year to anyone that is fairly fit (kids aged 8+ years).

Itinerary

We drive as high as 1,058 meters to a high mountain pass called Ljubelj, park our car, and head towards the luring high mountains. The trail follows ex-ski slopes underneath the imposing Begunjščica Mountain and arrives at a mountain hut Dom na Zelenici about 1.5 hours later. We there we continue forward to add another 1.5-hour loop in the green hills under the rocky walls of Begunjščica and Vrtača. Please note that it's about 5 hours for the whole loop for adults, which should make a 6-7-hour walk for young families. The hike can be either extended or shortened based on your fitness level.

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intro | Hike | Anyone with a heart for the great outdoors will enjoy our quick and easy yet exciting hikes in stunning mountainous landscape.

Length and elevation gain

5 h, 660 m | Day tour; estimated 3-hour ascent, 2-hour descent. 660 meters of elevation gain.

Client to guide ratio

7 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 12. Guide ratio 7:1.

Age Requirements

8+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Easy Active (2/5) | Great for outdoor novices to active hikers; 3-6 hours of activity per day.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Picnic lunch
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Travel insurance

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear.

Additional information

You can extend your hike with an additional ascent of one of the scenic mountains called Vrtača and Begunjščica.

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
Custom dates available! Contact us for custom departure date. Make Enquiry
June 2024
Mon, 17 Jun - Mon, 17 Jun Available 109 € Make Enquiry
July 2024
Mon, 1 Jul - Mon, 1 Jul Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 8 Jul - Mon, 8 Jul Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 15 Jul - Mon, 15 Jul Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 22 Jul - Mon, 22 Jul Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 29 Jul - Mon, 29 Jul Available 109 € Make Enquiry
August 2024
Mon, 5 Aug - Mon, 5 Aug Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 12 Aug - Mon, 12 Aug Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 19 Aug - Mon, 19 Aug Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 26 Aug - Mon, 26 Aug Available 109 € Make Enquiry
September 2024
Mon, 2 Sep - Mon, 2 Sep Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 9 Sep - Mon, 9 Sep Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 23 Sep - Mon, 23 Sep Available 109 € Make Enquiry
October 2024
Wed, 2 Oct - Wed, 2 Oct Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 7 Oct - Mon, 7 Oct Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 21 Oct - Mon, 21 Oct Available 109 € Make Enquiry
November 2024
Mon, 4 Nov - Mon, 4 Nov Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 18 Nov - Mon, 18 Nov Available 109 € Make Enquiry
December 2024
Mon, 2 Dec - Mon, 2 Dec Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 16 Dec - Mon, 16 Dec Available 109 € Make Enquiry
Mon, 30 Dec - Mon, 30 Dec Available 109 € Make Enquiry

Available extras

  • Hiking poles 10 €
  • Backpack 10 €
  • Ljubljana transfer (roundtrip) 90 €
× How can I help you?