Velika Planina

Half-Day Tour, start from Podvolovljek, pick-up in Ljubljana or Kamnik

Velika Planina, one of the top hiking destinations for Ljubljana families, is actually a large plateau interwoven with magnificent easy trails across vast meadows, perfect mountain villages and remote farmsteads. A snowshoeing paradise in the winter, its endless meadows turn purple with endless crocuses in early spring, but the most interesting time to visit Velika Planina might be summer. Then, an old herdsmen settlement comes alive again, offering an insight into the traditional ways of local life.

Itinerary

Since Velika Planina is a large plateau, recognised for its scenery, flora and unique arcihtecture, and we'd like to get a glimpse of everything, we'll start from a parking lot called Za Ušivcem. From there, it's an easy walk up towards the herdsmen's settlement of Mala Planina, where we can stop for a taste of homemade dairy products and other traditional goodies The cottages are known for their unique architecture, while the settlement turns most interesting in June, when herdsmen resettle their cottages, giving an insight into the old ways of herding. After Mala Planina, we continue to walk in pristine nature towards Gradišče, the top of Velika Planina, getting amazing views of the jagged mountain peaks of the Kamnik-Savinja Alps. Please note that it's about 2 hours to the top for adults, which should make a 2.5-3-hour walk up for young families. The return is much shorter and should not last much longer than one hour.

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intro | Hike | Anyone with a heart for the great outdoors will enjoy our quick and easy yet exciting hikes in stunning mountainous landscape.

Length and elevation gain

3 h, 266 m | Half-day tour; estimated 2-hour ascent, 1-hour descent. 266 meters of elevation gain.

Client to guide ratio

12 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 12. Guide ratio 12:1.

Age Requirements

8+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Relaxed (1/5) | Adventure travel at its most relaxed pace; 1-3 hours of activity per day.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Meals and beverages
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Accommodation
  • Travel insurance
  • Other expenses of a personal nature (alcoholic beverages and non-outside group meals, snacks etc.)

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear.

Additional information

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
December 2019
Sun, 15 Dec - Sun, 15 Dec Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 24 Dec - Tue, 24 Dec Available 110 € Make Enquiry
January 2020
Tue, 7 Jan - Tue, 7 Jan Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 21 Jan - Tue, 21 Jan Available 110 € Make Enquiry
February 2020
Tue, 4 Feb - Tue, 4 Feb Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 18 Feb - Tue, 18 Feb Available 110 € Make Enquiry
March 2020
Tue, 3 Mar - Tue, 3 Mar Available 110 € Make Enquiry
April 2020
Tue, 7 Apr - Tue, 7 Apr Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 14 Apr - Tue, 14 Apr Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 21 Apr - Tue, 21 Apr Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 28 Apr - Tue, 28 Apr Available 110 € Make Enquiry
May 2020
Tue, 26 May - Tue, 26 May Available 110 € Make Enquiry
June 2020
Tue, 23 Jun - Tue, 23 Jun Available 110 € Make Enquiry
July 2020
Tue, 14 Jul - Tue, 14 Jul Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 28 Jul - Tue, 28 Jul Available 110 € Make Enquiry
August 2020
Tue, 11 Aug - Tue, 11 Aug Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 25 Aug - Tue, 25 Aug Available 110 € Make Enquiry
September 2020
Tue, 15 Sep - Tue, 15 Sep Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 29 Sep - Tue, 29 Sep Available 110 € Make Enquiry
October 2020
Tue, 13 Oct - Tue, 13 Oct Available 110 € Make Enquiry
Tue, 27 Oct - Tue, 27 Oct Available 110 € Make Enquiry
?>