Alpine pastures of Pokljuka

Day Tour, start from Pokljuka, pick-up in Bled or Bohinj

Set against a playground of high peaks of the Julians Alps and yet so snugly hidden in the otherwise thick forest, Pokljuka’s Alpine pastures offer perfect easier hiking with breathtaking views. Recommended throughout the year to anyone that is fairly fit (kids aged 12+ years).

Blog:

Hiking among Alpine pastures of Pokljuka

Itinerary

As many great treks in the Julian Alps, among them also the most scenic tour to Triglav, this one too starts from Rudno Polje in Pokljuka, a sports center at 1,350 m mostly focused on Nordic skiing and biathlon. We park our car there and head out on our 18-km loop among three breathtaking Alpine pastures of the Julian Alps.

First, our trail takes us to Planina Konjščica, a beautiful pasture with around a dozen little huts scattered along a kilometer-long clearing surrounded by tall mountains. From there we continue towards Planina Uskovnica following the Ribnica stream, weaving through a fluffy white landscape between snow-capped rocks and white fir trees. From Uskovnica, a small village spread across a remote hummock-strewn clearing, we head towards the last Alpine pasture of the day, the Zajamniki Pasture. Much smaller than Uskovnica, it’s one of the most romantic Alpine meadows in the Slovenian Alps. Surrounded by forests, about sixty huts lie stretched across this high-altitude pasture with a backdrop of mountain peaks of the Julian Alps to the west and the beautiful Bohinj mountains to the south.

 

If you do a private tour, the loop can easily be adjusted according to your wishes with an option of seeing a sunrise or sunset at one of the pastures.

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intro | Hike | Anyone with a heart for the great outdoors will enjoy our quick and easy yet exciting hikes in stunning mountainous landscape.

Length and elevation gain

6 h, 680 m | Day tour; estimated 18 km, 680 meters of elevation gain.

Client to guide ratio

12 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 12. Guide ratio 12:1.

Age Requirements

12+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Easy Active (2/5) | Great for outdoor novices to active hikers; 3-6 hours of activity per day.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Meals and beverages
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Accommodation
  • Travel insurance
  • Other expenses of a personal nature (alcoholic beverages and non-outside group meals, snacks etc.)

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear.

Additional information

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
Custom dates available! Contact us for custom departure date. Make Enquiry
February 2023
Fri, 3 Feb - Fri, 3 Feb Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 17 Feb - Fri, 17 Feb Available 120 € Make Enquiry
March 2023
Fri, 3 Mar - Fri, 3 Mar Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 17 Mar - Fri, 17 Mar Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 31 Mar - Fri, 31 Mar Available 120 € Make Enquiry
April 2023
Fri, 7 Apr - Fri, 7 Apr Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 14 Apr - Fri, 14 Apr Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 28 Apr - Fri, 28 Apr Available 120 € Make Enquiry
May 2023
Fri, 5 May - Fri, 5 May Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 19 May - Fri, 19 May Available 120 € Make Enquiry
June 2023
Fri, 2 Jun - Fri, 2 Jun Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 16 Jun - Fri, 16 Jun Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 23 Jun - Fri, 23 Jun Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 30 Jun - Fri, 30 Jun Available 120 € Make Enquiry
July 2023
Fri, 7 Jul - Fri, 7 Jul Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 14 Jul - Fri, 14 Jul Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 28 Jul - Fri, 28 Jul Available 120 € Make Enquiry
August 2023
Fri, 11 Aug - Fri, 11 Aug Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 18 Aug - Fri, 18 Aug Available 120 € Make Enquiry
September 2023
Fri, 1 Sep - Fri, 1 Sep Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 15 Sep - Fri, 15 Sep Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 29 Sep - Fri, 29 Sep Available 120 € Make Enquiry
October 2023
Fri, 13 Oct - Fri, 13 Oct Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 27 Oct - Fri, 27 Oct Available 120 € Make Enquiry
November 2023
Fri, 10 Nov - Fri, 10 Nov Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 24 Nov - Fri, 24 Nov Available 120 € Make Enquiry
December 2023
Fri, 8 Dec - Fri, 8 Dec Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 22 Dec - Fri, 22 Dec Available 120 € Make Enquiry
Fri, 29 Dec - Fri, 29 Dec Available 120 € Make Enquiry
January 2024
Fri, 5 Jan - Fri, 5 Jan Available 120 € Make Enquiry
× How can I help you?