Alpine Pastures of Pokljuka

Day Tour, start from Pokljuka, pick-up in Bled or Bohinj

Set against a playground of high peaks of the Julians Alps and yet so snugly hidden in the otherwise thick forest, Pokljuka’s alpine pastures offer perfect easier hiking with breathtaking views. Recommended throughout the year to anyone that is fairly fit (kids aged 12+ years).

Blog:

Itinerary

As many great treks in the Julian Alps, among them also the most scenic tour to Triglav, this one too starts from Rudno Polje in Pokljuka, a sports center at 1,350 m mostly focused on Nordic skiing and biathlon. We park our car there and head out on our 18-km loop among three breathtaking Alpine pastures of the Julian Alps.

First, our trail takes us to Planina Konjščica, a beautiful pasture with around a dozen little huts scattered along a kilometer-long clearing surrounded by tall mountains. From there we continue towards Planina Uskovnica following the Ribnica stream, weaving through a fluffy white landscape between snow-capped rocks and white fir trees. From Uskovnica, a small village spread across a remote hummock-strewn clearing, we head towards the last Alpine pasture of the day, the Zajamniki Pasture. Much smaller than Uskovnica, it’s one of the most romantic Alpine meadows in the Slovenian Alps. Surrounded by forests, about sixty huts lie stretched across this high-altitude pasture with a backdrop of mountain peaks of the Julian Alps to the west and the beautiful Bohinj mountains to the south.

 

If you do a private tour, the loop can easily be adjusted according to your wishes with an option of seeing a sunrise or sunset at one of the pastures.

Is This for Me?

Adventure Style

Day Intro | Hike | Anyone with a heart for the great outdoors will enjoy our quick and easy yet exciting hikes in stunning mountainous landscape.

Length and elevation gain

6 h, 680 m | Day tour; estimated 18 km, 680 meters of elevation gain.

Client to guide ratio

7 : 1 | Small group experience; Max 12. Guide ratio 7:1.

Age Requirements

12+ | All travelers under age 18 must be accompanied by an adult.

Fitness level

Easy Active (2/5) | Great for outdoor novices to active hikers; 3-6 hours of activity per day.

Technical level

T1 | No previous hiking or climbing experience is necessary. Surfaces: rolling or mountainous terrain with typically easily ascending trails, some steep ascents/descents and uneven trails.

What's included

  • Expert mountain guiding
  • Transportation
  • Picnic lunch
  • Fun

What's not included

  • Travel insurance

Recommended equipment

Basic hiking gear.

Additional information

Please find more information on our tours in FAQ. If you wish to discuss any aspect of the tour or your suitability for it, please phone +386(0)31603225 or email info@exploringslovenia.com.

Availability And Enquiry

Dates Availability Price
Custom dates available! Contact us for custom departure date. Make Enquiry
June 2024
Thu, 6 Jun - Thu, 6 Jun Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 20 Jun - Thu, 20 Jun Available 119 € Make Enquiry
July 2024
Thu, 4 Jul - Thu, 4 Jul Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 11 Jul - Thu, 11 Jul Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 18 Jul - Thu, 18 Jul Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 25 Jul - Thu, 25 Jul Available 119 € Make Enquiry
August 2024
Thu, 1 Aug - Thu, 1 Aug Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 8 Aug - Thu, 8 Aug Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 15 Aug - Thu, 15 Aug Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 22 Aug - Thu, 22 Aug Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 29 Aug - Thu, 29 Aug Available 119 € Make Enquiry
September 2024
Thu, 5 Sep - Thu, 5 Sep Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 12 Sep - Thu, 12 Sep Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 19 Sep - Thu, 19 Sep Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 26 Sep - Thu, 26 Sep Available 119 € Make Enquiry
October 2024
Thu, 3 Oct - Thu, 3 Oct Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 17 Oct - Thu, 17 Oct Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 31 Oct - Thu, 31 Oct Available 119 € Make Enquiry
November 2024
Thu, 14 Nov - Thu, 14 Nov Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 28 Nov - Thu, 28 Nov Available 119 € Make Enquiry
December 2024
Thu, 12 Dec - Thu, 12 Dec Available 119 € Make Enquiry
Thu, 26 Dec - Thu, 26 Dec Available 119 € Make Enquiry

Available extras

  • Hiking poles 10 €
  • Backpack 10 €
  • Ljubljana transfer (roundtrip) 90 €
× How can I help you?